Blogging 101: Introduce Yourself

Today’s assignment: write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post.

Today is day one of the WordPress Blogging 101 course. Today’s theme is “introduce yourself.” I thought it best to have a standard page to familiarize readers with who I am. So if you really want to learn more, then click here.

So on to today’s assignment! To make it easier on me (and you, the reader), I am sticking to the prompts provided:

Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

First, I have toyed with the idea of starting a personal blog for quite some time. Over the past few years, I have encountered many peaks and valleys. Now, I am at a stage of “rebuilding” in my areas of my life. As such, there is so much I want to share with others about my life and experiences. I think connecting with a community of like-minded bloggers, writers and creators will help me keep my rhythm along my journey, hence the name of my blog.

Second, blogging (especially through this challenge) will help me become a better writer. The only way to go from good to great, from great to better and from better to best is through constant practice. Writing daily will improve my ability to communicate in an expressive and creative manner.

What topics do you think you’ll write about?

Everything! Well, that’s over-reaching just a bit.

I will write about issues that affect me and people like me. Single, forty-plus women who are trying to make sense of life. Some of the topics will be serious (like gender or employment), while others will be more fun (like hobbies and music). Hopefully, whatever I write will engage every reader to comment and share with others.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

Anyone who is at a crossroad and looking for another voice along the way. Starting over isn’t easy and it can be a somewhat isolating stage of life to go through, especially if you are doing it alone or with minimal help.

If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

Success is a funny word. We often live and die by success and the measurements used to gauge it. If I had to determine what success would be for this blog, it would be consistency and creativity. My blog would be a success if I posted consistently and with creativity.

3 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Introduce Yourself

  1. Pingback: Blogging 101: Say Your Name | Keeping Kadence

Leave a Reply

