Blogging 101: Say Your Name

Today’s assignment: edit your title and tagline.
If you’re already thrilled with your title or you want to do more, let readers know what inspired your title and tagline.

Today is day two of the WordPress Blogging 101 course. I like the title of my blog and won’t make any changes to it. So I will use this post to explain what it means.

I must start by saying it was important that my blog address and blog name be the same. Blame it on the need to control things. It’s sort of like having mismatched socks. You can wear them in your home, but not outside for the world to see. Well, at least I wouldn’t. 🙂

After mulling things over, I finally found the right combination of uniqueness and simplicity. And so a blog name was born: Keeping Kadence. Tada!

The title of the blog (and website, hooray!) is deceptively short but packs a punch. On its face, most people might think my name is Kadence. But it’s not. However, the first initial of my first name is the letter K. Clever, right?

I like to run, but now its a love-hate relationship. When I was running on a consistent basis, I worked on improving my cadence. Cadence is the number of times your foot touches the ground in a minute. A good cadence reduces the stress on your knees, ankles and feet, keeps your body in alignment and allows your feet to move faster.

However, when most people hear the word cadence they think of music or sound. A steady rhythm, beat or rhythmic motion of an activity. Marching cadence. Cadence of a drum beat. I liken it to a pulse. A feeling that is indicative of life and motion.

I am a proud member of my sorority. During my initiation, I was given a line name. This name reflected my personality and how my big sisters viewed me. Can you guess what that name is? Yup, cadence. I have always loved my name and hold it dear to my heart.

So how does running cadence, a steady drum beat, my birth name and my line name combine to make a blog name?

If you read my earlier post, you learned that I am on a journey to rebuild and restart my life. Keeping Kadence is all the things needed to help me start over and keep me “whole.” Listening to my strong and enduring inner voice. Moving forward (no stopping!) and aligning myself with good people, places and things. Drawing strength from the combination of the names and remembering the people who know and love me. Holding a constant pace while focusing on the destination. So you see, it really does makes sense!

As for a tagline, I had one but thought it was repetitive. I am leaving it ‘tagless’ for now, which I think is okay. I can always add one as my writing journey evolves. Unless, of course, you have a suggestion or two? If so, leave them in the comments section.

6 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Say Your Name

Leave a Reply

