Blogging 101: Your Dream Reader

Today’s assignment: publish a post for your dream reader and include a new-to-you element. Why do this?
  • Writing with a specific reader in mind is a great way to focus your thoughts.
  • Exploring new elements and post styles adds more tools to your storytelling toolbox.
  • Publishing different types of posts and media adds visual interest and keeps people reading.

The struggle is real.

Here in the U.S., the Great Recession affected everyone, no matter their tax bracket or geographic location. To say that folks are just now regaining some semblance of their former lives isn’t totally inaccurate. But it doesn’t tell the whole story either. There are so many falling in between the cracks, making up for lost time (e.g., education, finances, business investments), still looking for work and turning their eyes to the skies for some divine intervention.

I have come to the very humbling realization that I am not the “be-all-and-end-all” of everything. And now, in my mid-forties, I find myself sitting in a very funky space. I am struggling to understand my purpose in life. You would think by now I has this figured out by now. And for a time, I thought I had. Now, I’m not so sure.

I work a fulfilling, but grossly underpaying job. I struggle to have my professional life support my personal life, along with all the goals, hopes, wishes and dreams I had (and still have) for myself. These harsh realities have caused me to do some soul searching.

What do I want to do and who do I want to be when I grow up?

A friend of mine recently gave me the book, The ONE Thing: The Surprisingly Simple Truth Behind Extraordinary Results. In the opening pages, the author describes a scene from the movie “City Slickers.” (I’ve never seen that movie BTW.) There is a scene where actors Billy Crystal and Jack Palance are herding stray cattle. Jack Palance’s character asks Billy Crystal’s character if he knows the secret of life. Crystal’s character says no to which Palance replies, “one thing.”

Sounds simple enough. Stick to one thing and everything else will fall into place. I can definitely get behind that theory. But what if your head is filled with many “one” things? How do you get to just.that.one? #canyoufeelme

 

One thought on “Blogging 101: Your Dream Reader

Leave a Reply

