Photography 101: Bliss

Bliss: complete happiness, great joy, paradise, or heaven.  What is your idea of bliss? Today, publish an image that represents bliss.

In October 2006, I was fortunate enough to travel to South Africa for business. During our stay-over in Cape Town, we explored Table Bay and Table Top Mountain.

The mountain, with its flat-top, majestically overlooks the city of Cape Town. We arrived at the top by cable car. Once I secured my spot on the mountain, I turned around in a circle several times just to take it all in. I literally smiled from the inside out. The view was euphoric!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Have you ever been so far up in the world (hiking, skiing, skydiving, etc.) that you believed that you could grab a cloud? That’s exactly how I felt that day. Like I could just stand on my tiptoes and pull off a “piece” of a cloud. The mountain is often covered by large masses of clouds, lending to its table top appearance.

I took some time to talk with God. I thanked him for his wondrous and mighty hand. To the see another part of the world, especially from that vantage point, was truly a blissful moment!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These photos were taken in 2006, so I cheated just a tad for this assignment. I hope you don’t mind my trip down memory lane. The haze you might see in the photos was from the clouds surrounding the mountains.

To learn more about Table Top mountain, check out Wiki’s entry or enjoy the view via the cable car.

4 thoughts on “Photography 101: Bliss

Leave a Reply

