Photography 101: Solitude

We’re excited about today’s theme, solitude. In addition to thinking about what it means to you, also consider the placement of the subject in your shot. How can you interpret the state of being alone, or a lonely and uninhabited place?
Tip: As you frame your shot, apply the tried-and-true Rule of Thirds, which is a great introductory lesson in composition. Divide your shot into thirds, both horizontally and vertically, so you get nine parts. Place your subject at the intersections of these lines, or along them. Today, experiment with this grid as you frame your solitary subject.

When I think of solitude, it’s often in a positive way. I find solitude, as a practice, very relaxing and somewhat equalizing to the mind and soul. Just to be away from people and be with my own thoughts. It’s in the midst of solitude where I come to my best revelations about life, other people and myself. Solitude can be a place or just the state of mind; I’m partial to places.

I now stay at an 800-unit apartment building in a major urban city. Highly congested. Lots of people. Tons of cars on the road, day and night. But tucked away, nestled in between several apartment complexes and homes, is this little slice of solitude.

20141108_140017

In looking at this picture, one could imagine a sprawling country side somewhere in the South or Midwest. Yet it’s only five minutes away.

It is the personal home and farm land of a local resident. Over the years, I have seen horses there. I don’t know the owners and I have never seen them on the property.

Perhaps, like me, they enjoy their solitude.

Does this illicit solitude for you?


This photo was taken using my Samsung Galaxy (Android) phone. I used auto mode and employed the grid feature. I placed my focal point (the barn) at the intersection of these lines, but skewed toward the right. After taking the shot, I thought it was interesting that I captured the wire fence as well, serving as its own grid of sorts.

One thought on “Photography 101: Solitude

  1. Pingback: Photography 101: Landscape | Keeping Kadence

Leave a Reply

