Blogging 101: Love Your Theme

The assignment: try out at least three other themes — even if you’re happy with the one you first chose. Try one you’re drawn to, and one you would never use.
Preview or upload some new themes, or just try out some of the options available to you from your blog provider. And yes, do this even if you love your current blog layout. You never know what seeing your words displayed in a new way will inspire, and you can always keep the layout you love.

Honestly, it took me days to decide on my current theme. So when I saw this assignment, I was somewhat reluctant to do it. But in the spirit of trying new things and being open to change, I went back and checked out a few themes.

Well, over twenty themes to be exact. LOL. I’m such an overachiever.

I managed to wind the list down to about ten, including Bon Press, Silesia, Skeptical and Chunk. After weighing the pros and cons of all ten themes, I ultimately stuck with the one I had (Adelle).  And here’s why:

1) The color scheme is very much what I want. I wouldn’t be able to duplicate it in the other themes I looked at.

2) There is a sense of delineation, albeit slight/faint.

3) I like the graphical border across the top of the page.

4) Blocked quotes look good in this theme. They looked extremely large in some of the other themes. For a few, they just didn’t translate well at all and actually made the theme look weird.

Now don’ get me wrong. The other themes were great. But I ran into the same problem with many of them. Too much white space. Inability to customize certain color aspects of the site. Too big fonts. Too small fonts. I realize that with a free site I am pretty much confined to what the theme will allow. So it became a bit frustrating to try and find all that I wanted in other themes, knowing my current theme fit the bill.

My theme isn’t perfect though. For one, I am not crazy about the font type. It drives me insane as I think it might be too small for older readers or people with weaker vision. But it has grown on me. Bottom line, I like it.

I think of it as my starter theme for my starter blog. As my writings progress and my content begins to vary, the tone of my blog will certainly change. Maybe that’s when I will take another look at my theme. Having done this exercise, I certainly have a few favorites to choose from when I do.

One thought on “Blogging 101: Love Your Theme

  1. I have the same theme and paid a very small amount to be able to customise it. This allowed me to change font, colour and background to make my blog a little bit more individual.
    Saying that, I like the look of your blog now but it is something to consider if you wanted to customise it a bit more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

