Blogging 101: Start Personalizing

Picking a theme you love is the first step. Next, make that theme your own; start with the basics, like a header and/or background. If you’re happy with your header and background, try your hand at a custom widget.
Today’s assignment: create and upload a simple header, background, or both. Already done? Try a custom widget.

My blog theme comes with a very simple header, which I like.  However I am using this assignment as a chance to create a new, custom header.

I am familiar with online photo editors such as Fotor and PicMonkey. In fact, I used PicMonkey to create the following headers. From a design perspective, I knew I wanted to keep a simple, text-based header. Yet, I wanted a touch of whimsy.

Here was my first option. I was happy with it and I really liked the font. But thought it lacked. I was going for something more directional. The dashed lines looked more like writing paper as opposed to a road or street.

header
So I decided to scrap the idea of a “road” and go for a softer, curvier element that conveyed a sense of movement. Here is the result.

header 2

But now I was bothered by the font. It lacked the movement that corresponded with the arrow. So I went back to the drawing board. I found a font that proved to be a better fit. Below is the result, which can now be seen on my blog.

header 3

What do you think? Should I have done something different? 

6 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Start Personalizing

  1. Yup a good header. I like a simple one, just changed mine too. Oh and while I’m here I have chosen your blog to comment on because I like it. One of the challenges for today to comment on a blog you never commented on but I’m looking for blogs I like. 😉
    Check out the blog header on my blog, maybe when you are ready for a change you can do one like that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

