Photography 101: Connect

In this age of social media, we hear the word connect more often, don’t we? Given what today’s technologies can do, it feels like the world is getting smaller and we’re more connected than ever before.
There are many ways to interpret this theme: from a gadget to a handshake, from a bridge to a gathering among friends. What’s yours?

I now split my time between two states and my ability to connect to people and places (in both locations) is something I think about every day. To stay in touch with my job, family and friends, I have a laptop, a tablet and an external hard drive. I would have included my phone, but I used it to take the picture. 🙂

Since I don’t have time (or energy or money) to be as social as I would like, my tablet serves as all things entertainment. I use it to read books, keep up with blogs and play music. My laptop is literally my work space, allowing me to meet deadlines and conduct business no matter where I am. My external drive backups all things important– work files, music, photos, you name it!

connect

However, this shot causes me to think on how I connect with the world. Everything in the picture requires an external source of power. But shouldn’t connecting be about the inner power– how we relate, interact and “be” with others? I feel a bit sad in knowing that I see connecting as something that happens externally and most often with attachments, gadgets or enhancements.

What happens when I unplug? Am I no longer connected?

Your thoughts are welcomed.


This photo was taken on my Samsung Galaxy (Android) phone. No special filters were used.

Leave a Reply

