Blogging 101: Spruce Up Your Sidebar

You’ve done a lot so far — published a few posts, worked on your About widget and About page, and dabbled in personalizing your theme. Widgets are another great way to tailor your site, while providing more info for your readers, so let’s add a few. If you’re already happy with your widgets, customize the ones you have. And if you’ve already done that, write a short-form post on the topic of your choosing.
Today’s assignment: add and/or customize two widgets, one text-based and one image-based.
I’m going to keep it real. I am not feeling the addition of an image-based widget. 
The one I tried would need me to constantly update/upload photos into the widget. None of the other widgets seem automated, unless you are using Instagram, which I don’t. So unless my theme has a way to connect my Pinterest account, then I won’t bother.
But that doesn’t mean my blog hasn’t been spruced up! I recently added several new widgets, including:
  • Follow me.
  • Search.
  • Recent posts.
  • Posts I like.

Do you think I need to add anything else?

3 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Spruce Up Your Sidebar

Leave a Reply

