Photography 101: Warmth

Photography means “drawing with light,” and when you snap a picture with your camera, you use and record light to create an image. When we’re out and about, we use the sun — our most abundant light source — to capture our scenes. Today, head outside and capture an image of warmth, using the sun as your source. 
Tip: If you’d like to experiment more, consider the direction of light. First, let’s talk about front light and side light.

A front-lit subject faces the light source and is even-lit and flat, primarily without shadows. 

When you light a subject from the side, the mix of light and shadow shows more depth and reveals textures, patterns, and complexities (even flaws) in the shot.

Due to the temperatures (low 40s) and lack of sunlight, I went into my personal photo archives for this picture. This photo was taken in March 2014. 

SAMSUNG

I struggled a bit with this assignment and I am not sure I captured the focus of today’s assignment. I will probably revisit it again when the sun is out and after seeing how my “classmates” interpreted the theme.

I would certainly appreciate any feedback or suggestions on how to capture warmth.

6 thoughts on “Photography 101: Warmth

  1. Hi there. I struggled as well.
    I like this photo that you’ve taken here. I love sun flare and you can see that it’s trying to warm up that snowy scene. For me, it’s how you interpret the word warmth. Before I went out, I felt like I had to get orange/yellow – hued images but even in the full Australian sun by the pool, there was no orange to be seen. So, like you, I focussed on the source of warmth – the sun and the light it sends out. I will stop rambling on now. Lovely photo.

    Like

  2. I think you could have taken some objects and gotten close ups of them, reflecting the sun light off of them, creating shadows and interesting effects. Or take some objects of the red, orange, yellow type and create your own interpretation of warmth.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Photography 101: More Warmth | Keeping Kadence

Leave a Reply

