Single and Black – A Male Perspective

As a single woman in my forties, I feel like an oddity. Most of my friends (female and male) are married. They have started families and built lives that seem fulfilling. But me, I am still alone. And it’s bugging me. Seriously.

I take (some) comfort in knowing I am not alone. News reports, magazine articles, radio commentary and blogs have all focused on the plight of single black women. Whether I agree or not with the public sentiment is a topic for another day. But I know one thing for sure. It’s not just me.

But there is also another side to this discussion. One that I rarely see or hear about in the media. Single black men. Their voice seems to be missing from this conversation. So I decided to ask one.

What follows is an open, honest, four-part conversation with Bleek G. As a single black male, who just turned 50 several months ago, Bleek has a unique perspective. He is educated (two colleges degrees), has never been married and has no children. We covered such themes as age, dating vs. marriage, “settling” and the quality of black women. Here are his thoughts.

On the status of single, black men

In general, black men are single because they are looking to find someone they are compatible with and someone who is compatible with them. They seek women who are their equals. As Bleek puts it, “Someone who will have my back when things get rough.” Someone who will not try to breakdown the (sometimes fragile) male ego.

For older men such as Bleek, there are various reasons why they remain single. Some have made mistakes. According to Bleek, older single men “didn’t recognize what they wanted until it was gone.” Other reasons included fear of losing their personal freedom or their single status.

Bleek did acknowledge that once a man reaches the age of 40, he will have periods of self-reflection. Most older, single black men (and presumably men of other ethnic and racial backgrounds) don’t want to live their lives alone. Fear of being without a companion resonates deeply and causes them to look at their long-term prospects.

However, as Bleek pointed out, not living alone may not always equal getting married. Many older men consider long-term companionship or long-term relationships as serious options. When I pressed this a bit further, he stated “Some men just don’t want to be married. They have heard stories about bad marriages from their friends or even experienced bad marriages in their own families. Some are afraid to open themselves up completely and give themselves to another person.”

Bleek admitted that a combination of things account for his single status. “My younger self was afraid, had some fear of letting go. Now that I am older, my fear is different. I don’t want to be alone.”

Bleek offered up this last thought on why some black men remain single. The vision that men see for themselves and the vision women see for men is very different. “The media sometimes offers up images of men who are extremely successful. Most times, we feel as though we may not be able to measure up.”

Our conversation began to drift toward the topic of settling. My next post will explore this further and why Bleek says the stigmas attached to older single men may cause them to do so. 


This post was inspired by the WordPress E-book: 365 Writing Prompts

10 thoughts on “Single and Black – A Male Perspective

  1. Fascinating look into a topic that gets very little media coverage. We have all read about black single women and single/divorced/widowed women over 35 of all races. Why hasn’t an inquiry been done on the men? The black men over 35? Good for you for coming up with a topic that feels new and fresh. Now I”ll have to subscribe so I don’t miss part 2 of your interview!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think Bleeks perspective would be similar for men of any race generally unless you are brought up in a situation where things are done very differently. I am white and from the UK but my husband is black also from the UK but his parents from Barbados and Trinidad. On the Carribean Islands I see the dynamics in certain sectors to be very different to for instance what is considered to be the norm here. With this I mean for instance in Barbados some sections of women live together generations combined with children unmarried whilst the men remain single too and don’t live with the woman or child but just seem to do their own thing. That’s not to say the whole of Barbados is like this just some of it and something I’ve discussed with my family now that live over there x

    Like

    • Agreed. I think his perspective can be somewhat universal to men of his age group. I think in America, with so much of the focus on single black women who are unmarried, it’s important to hear from a single black man that basically mirrors the phenomenon. As for the instances that you mentioned re: Barbados, I suspect there are some cultural and ideological differences at play. Perhaps the men are desired or viewed in a way that is different from other parts of the world. Very interesting though and I appreciate you sharing that viewpoint.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so glad that somebody’s taking a look at this topic that’s been on my mind a bit more lately. I’m looking forward to the next in the series with great interest. I didn’t see it mentioned, perhaps a topic for another post, but what are your thoughts on the friends that try to lend a hand to “their nice, single guy friend”?

    Like

    • Ryan, thank you so much for reading! I am glad that you found interest in this topic and would certainly welcome YOUR insights and perspectives as well. It would be helpful if you clarified your question just a bit. Do you mean friends (male or female) playing matchmaker for their single male friends? Or did you mean something else?

      Like

  4. Pingback: Single and Black – A Male Perspective, Part II | Keeping Kadence

  5. Pingback: Single and Black – A Male Perspective, Part III | Keeping Kadence

  6. Pingback: ‘Tis the Season | Keeping Kadence

Leave a Reply

