Photography 101: Swarm

Swarm: to fly off together in a group, as bees; to move about in great numbers, as things or persons.
Show us a swarm today: large group, moving together. Your subjects can be big or small, animate or inanimate — whatever they are, you just need a lot of them.
Tip: Don’t just point and shoot. Observe your scene closely before pressing the shutter. Spend time watching and planning your frame, so that you can take a photo that captures a unique moment in the larger scene. Observe before you click. As you watch your scene, think of a few different photos that can tell the story of the scene.

Honestly, the weather has really prohibited me from taking photos. I could have staged something inside, but that just didn’t feel right to me. Perhaps I will think on that for a future follow-up assignment.

Instead, I decided to scour my archives for something to share. I think these pictures, although quite old, fit the bill.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????
These photos were taken during a trip to Sun City several years ago. During my stay, I went to a game reserve. Once in a lifetime opportunity!

9 thoughts on “Photography 101: Swarm

Leave a Reply

