Blogging 101: Create a New Feature

One of the best ways to inspire loyalty is to publish regularly. And the best ways to make sure you publish regularly is with a recurring feature — it’s like making a pact with yourself and your audience.
Today’s assignment: develop a regular feature for your blog.

Interestingly enough, I developed a feature on my blog without knowing it and before this assignment was released. Thank goodness because the holiday season has started to fry my brain!

I am a lover of wrestling but not this newfangled mess. I grew up watching and liking the old school wrestling– Jim Corckett Promotions, NWA, WCW, WWF, etc. I loved many of the wrestlers and their personalities. But there was one in particular that would make me laugh so much till my belly hurt — Ric Flair, the Nature Boy.

Before the era of hashtags and quick comebacks, before being flashy and bragadocious was the “thing to do,” Ric Flair was known for his long-winded yet hysterical monologues during this television interviews. In a strange way I admired his self-confidence. Ric always believed he was the best and surrounded himself with the best. Yes his bragging was over the top. But that was part of his appeal. Everybody wanted to roll with the winner and that was usually Ric.

As a throwback to all he represented, every Sunday I will share a “flairism.” A highlight or clip of his famous television interviews. You can definitely find some humor in these old clips and his comments are definitely social media worthy by today’s standards. A good friend and I constantly pick the segments apart for what we call the hashtag/s of the week.

It is fun feature, nothing serious. Just my weird way of finding inspiration in the small things.

You can check out the earlier “flairisms” here and here.

#flairism

2 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Create a New Feature

  1. Cool! Back in the 1940s (maybe early 50s) my favorite wrestlers were: Man Mountain Dean, and Gorgeous George. They were great. Those two names immediately popped into my mind from the dim reaches of my file cabinet/brain. LOL

    In fact, your Flairisms is a great weekly feature. It inspires me to think about creating one of my own, I’ll think on it and try to do it. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

