‘Tis the Season

december2014

click image to learn more

For those of us dealing with it, the winter is here. And that signifies a great season — the holiday season. No matter what you celebrate, this really is a wonderful time of the year. And that also means, so many opportunities for photographs! This month’s theme is: ‘Tis the Season. I’ll be excited to see what people can come up with! 

PicMonkey Collage

An interesting bunch of snapshots that I took throughout the month of December. My theme is Traditions.

Top left: I belong to an online forum that focuses on beauty. For the past few years, member of this community have participated in a Secret Santa exchange. Hundreds of women (and maybe a few fellas too!) run around shopping for their Santee and begin shipping gifts all over the world. Many of the women only know each other through the forum. This has become a tradition for me as this is my second year participating in it. It really is a joyous, caring and deliciously fun event. This picture is of one of the presents from my Secret Santa.

Top right: Sending letters to Santa is a tradition practiced by most children. I know I sent PLENTY of letters to Santa, many of which he answered by placing my wish list under the Christmas tree. Although I’m grown-up, there is still a part of me that believes in Santa and his special magic this time of year. This picture was taken from one of the many Christmas displays in my neighborhood. To see the display check out this 2010 Youtube video— not mine by the way. Every year the display changes slightly, however you will see the box/house for letters to Santa around the 3:06 mark.

Middle: If you are from NYC and know anything about the Bronx at Christmas time, then you must have made the pilgrimage to Pelham Parkway. Once there, you are treated to the spectacular display from the Garabedian family. Their annual holiday display, which has been ongoing since the mid 1970s, has been covered by media all over the world. Every year, people flock from near and far to see what displays will be featured. This year, I swear I saw Taylor Swift as well as Lady and The Tramp. However, this shot is from one side of their roof displays which seems to focus more on the religious aspects of the holiday season. You can see a donkey, Mary, Joseph, a Wise Man, a camel and I suspect baby Jesus is in there somewhere too. A Google search of images on the house yield lots to marvel.

Bottom left: Hot chocolate, with whipped cream. My personal tradition. The holidays are not complete without having several cups of this wonderful concoction!

Bottom right: Most homes in America decorate a Christmas tree to celebrate the holidays. It is a tradition in my family and maybe yours too. This year, I watched my friend Bleek decorate his tree. Although he is single, he keeps the tradition running in his home. Even though the picture is fuzzy, I just love the way it turned out. Fuzzy, kind of like the warm feelings I get around this time of year.

Happy New Year to everyone. See you in January for the next challenge!

12 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

  1. After checking out the other shots from this week’s blogging challenge, I’ll need to go back and check out the nativity display. My favorite shot of yours for this month.

    They say that belief in Santa Claus is a state of mind. I’ve always heard that it’s a four stage process.
    1. You believe in Santa Claus
    2. You don’t believe in Santa Claus
    3. You are Santa Claus
    4. You look like Santa Claus

    For all intents and purposes, I think I’m starting to transition from stage 3 to 4, although I’m working on making the transition in such a way that people will start believing in a thin Santa Claus.

    Like

  2. Welcome to our small (and supportive) community. I really love the seasonal frame around your photo collage – a great idea. Your tree photo is fantastic! I love the way the lights turned out. Looking forward to seeing your take on “Games” at the end of January.

    Like

  3. Welcome to the challenge and I hope you enjoyed. Hopefully you’ll continue to join us!

    I’m a bit of a sign nut, so I like the “Letters to Santa” part of the collage best. A good group of pictures to show off the theme for the month!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

