Mondays Finish the Story – Feb. 23rd

Are you ready for Mondays Finish the Story challenge?

This is a flash fiction challenge where you are given a new photo each week and the first sentence of a story. The challenge is to finish the story using 100-150 words, not including the sentence provided.

Click on the picture to learn more and view the other entries for today’s challenge.

Photo by Barbara W. Beacham

Finish the story begins with: “The old typewriter had a mind of its own.”

Just like me.

And just like the typewriter has run out of ribbon, I have run out of inspiration.

Funny though. I usually have a million and one stories running through my brain. Words and images, all flying off the mental sheets of paper I keep tucked away inside of me.

But today, nothing.

My mind is as blank as the white, unadorned walls that stare back at me. No inspiration from the rising sun that cascades over my shoulder. No insight from the still warm cup of vanilla chai. Nada.

Maybe if I went to get some ribbon, I would feel the urge to write. But I just can’t seem to move my feet. I feel so lost, inside of my own mind.

Is this what they call writer’s block, the creative meltdown that plagues every writer? Or has the typewriter finally taken control?

Who will win the battle?

8 thoughts on “Mondays Finish the Story – Feb. 23rd

Leave a Reply

